‘Singles’ Soundtrack 25th Anniversary Reissue to include unreleased grunge-era tracks

Singles Soundtrack Cameron Crowe 1

Earlier this month, the news broke that the soundtrack to Cameron Crowe’s 1992 romantic comedy Singles would see an expanded reissue to coincide with the film’s 25th anniversary. Grunge fans everywhere can start rejoicing now as the the track list has now arrived, confirming the inclusion of a number of previously-unreleased tracks by members of Pearl Jam, The Replacements, Soundgarden and more.

The original soundtrack for Singles, which includes songs like Alice in Chains’ “Would,” Screaming Trees’ “Nearly Lost You,” Smashing Pumpkins’ “Drown” and Pearl Jam’s “State of Love and Trust” will all be intact for the highly-anticipated expanded reissue. Joining the deluxe edition soundtrack re-release is an entire second disc of demos, live performances, acoustic renditions and more.

There are previously-unreleased tracks by Chris Cornell, Paul Westerberg and Mike McCready on the album, as well as material (appearing for the first time on CD) by Alice in Chains, Mudhoney and Citizen Dick (fronted by Cliff Poncier aka Matt Dillon). Truly’s “Heart and Lungs” and Blood Circus’ “Six Foot Under” also made the cut for the forthcoming double-disc release of Crowe’s classic. The writer-director had this to say of the re-release:

“The album itself was always designed to be sort of an anti-soundtrack, more like a souvenir and a simple mix-tape of some of Seattle’s finest. It really is and was a tribute to those hard-working bands that welcomed me to their city with open arms, and the music so many still love so much. Anyway, here we are now revisiting Singles, the film, as well as the soundtrack you hold in your hands, expanded with a special tip of the hat to the fans of the original release. Included are unreleased and raw elements that helped shape the experience of making the movie back in 1991. Hope you enjoy the trip back as much as I did — Viva Seattle!”

Adding an extra layer of coolness to the Singles Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Deluxe Edition is the addition of liner notes and track descriptions (penned specifically for this release) by Crowe. The soundtrack, which drops May 19, will be made available on CD, vinyl and digital. Pre-order now on Amazon and see below for the complete list of tracks.

Singles: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack – Deluxe Edition Track List
(Disc One)
1. Alice in Chains – “Would?”
2. Pearl Jam – “Breath”
3. Chris Cornell – “Seasons”
4. Paul Westerberg – “Dyslexic Heart”
5. The Lovemongers – “Battle of Evermore’
6. Mother Love Bone – “Chloe Dancer”/”Crown of Thorns”
7. Soundgarden – “Birth Ritual”
8. Pearl Jam – “State of Love and Trust”
9. Mudhoney- “Overblown”
10. Paul Westerberg – “Waiting for Somebody”
11. The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “May This Be Love”
12. Screaming Trees – “Nearly Lost You”
13. Smashing Pumpkins – “Drown”

(Disc Two) – included in 2CD and 2LP editions
1. Citizen Dick – “Touch Me I’m Dick” (first time on CD)
2. Chris Cornell – “Nowhere but You” (Poncier)
3. Chris Cornell – “Spoon Man” (Poncier)
4. Chris Cornell – “Flutter Girl” (Poncier)
5. Chris Cornell – “Missing” (Poncier) (first time on CD)
6. Alice In Chains – “Would?” (live) – (first time on CD)
7. Alice In Chains – “It Ain’t Like That” (live) – (first time on CD)
8. Soundgarden – “Birth Ritual” (live) – (first time on CD)
9. Paul Westerberg – “Dyslexic Heart” (acoustic) – (first time on CD)
10. Paul Westerberg – “Waiting for Somebody” (score acoustic) – (previously unreleased)
11. Mudhoney – “Overblown” (demo) – (previously unreleased)
12. Truly – “Heart and Lungs”
13. Blood Circus – “Six Foot Under”
4. Mike McCready – “Singles Blues 1” (previously unreleased)
15. Paul Westerberg – “Blue Heart” (previously unreleased)
16. Paul Westerberg – “Lost in Emily’s Words” (previously unreleased)
17. Chris Cornell – “Ferry Boat #3” (previously unreleased)
18. Chris Cornell – “Score Piece #4” (previously unreleased)